black-white-tree-arial.jpg

FRIDAY AFTERNOON my car broke down on the way home from Ikea, (otherwise known as Disneyland), then I found out my license had been suspended. I was completely clueless as to how or why and racked my brain for any mistake I might have made without being aware.

The DMV and I had a fun chat about that, but this wasn’t the last thing to go wrong before the day was up.

I know each of you have experienced feeling out of control, unsure of how to make a big decision, and being overwhelmed by the feeling all your problems hit at once.

Life is hard.

Maybe it doesn’t have anything to do with adulthood. Maybe it’s a result of the condition of our hearts.

Maybe it’s a result of sin.

“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus.” Romans 3:23-24

I struggle to make decisions

This is a lie.

The truth is, much of the time you and I don’t like making tough decisions because we want to pursue our fleshly desires while reaping the benefits of wisdom.

You can’t put a cake in the oven and pull out a roast turkey dinner.

I can’t say that I want to be someone who eats food for the reasons God intended it, misuse the food He made for me to eat, and expect to be healthy and unaddicted to sugar 25 years from now, that’s not how it works.

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and self-control.” 2 Timothy 1:7

IMG_0425
Mels the day I bought her, Halloween 2013

Wisdom often means sacrifice

As I sit here typing I’m on the other side of an emotional breakdown entailing crying in the car and avocado pudding, more than one humbling lesson from the Holy Spirit, and an extremely long weekend filled with traffic school and car shopping.

The truth is, I didn’t want to wait for a mechanic to look at my car, I wanted to feel in control of the situation and I used safety as an excuse.

I savored the idea of road trips, trunk space and A/C.

I was so caught up in the future a new car would bring that I almost made a decision I would have regretted: Spending lots of money that wasn’t my own on a car I didn’t need.

The real source of the tension I feel when I have to make a “hard” decision, unless it’s fear, is my flesh at war with the spirit God placed inside me when He made me new in Christ.

God gives me all the wisdom, power, and self-control I need to make the best choices according to His standards, which are the best, because He can actually see and control the future, through his Holy Spirit.

His spirit is fearless.

Without the bias of my flesh, I can see the wisest course of action is to focus on the car I have right now, and finish stewarding that investment before I move on to a new one.

It may well be that I can’t fix Mels, or that I pay to have her fixed and something else breaks a few weeks down the road.

That’s a risk.

But the truth is I never have a guarantee of what’s to come, all I have is guarantee of the One who is to come.

Where is the placement of your hope and how is it affecting the way you make decisions?

Do you have peace?

“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:19

