I give myself permission to eat way too much (lactose free) ice cream and then throw the rest of the carton away in a furry. I give myself permission to do this as often as it comes. I give myself permission to “waste” my junk food in a moment of strength, tossing it down the trash can.

I also give myself permission to feel lonely when my plans for the day have ended and I am at home on the couch, alone, not bothering with pants (the American kind), getting addicted to another cheesy Netflix show (Fuller House).

I give myself permission to get addicted to new cheesy Netflix shows.

I give myself permission not to finish any of the new Netflix shows I start.

I give myself permission to both love and hate Once Upon a Time and to not watch it just because everyone else says it got good again. Until I break down and must check it out for myself. And I give myself permission to do that.

I give myself permission to be me, to be messy, and to fall down. Because I know I will get back up again; and perhaps by giving myself permission to hit the floor I will become more intimately acquainted with the art of jumping back up again with more and more grace.

I am giving myself grace. I will not remain a mess, for my Jesus is already renewing me day by day, for I have died with Christ and therefore I am risen with Christ. That is my end, my hope, my promise, and the life I already live in the power of the Holy Spirit.

But I am still messy as I’m under construction. Today I just needed to accept an extra dose of that wonderful grace I’m still learning the depths of that has been poured out for me out of love. And it’s okay if my sentences don’t flow and my thought processes confuse you and my reasoning that I’m an English teacher so it’s okay doesn’t make any sense-join me. Wherever you are right now, give yourself permission to be where you are.

Then look up, because we were not made to live life on the ground. We were made to fly on eagle’s wings.

“But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

And I give myself permission to feel anger every time I experience the sensation of having a running nose. I don’t know why, but every stinkin’ time no matter how happy I am. It just makes me mad when I feel the cold clear drip and there’s not a tissue in my hand… 😦 #thingsyoudidntneedtonose #letitnose #thankyoujesusforpuffs #ithinkimallergictofakeicecream

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

#hope

